Personal Statement Essays (Weekly Wrap-Up!)

Hey y’all!

This week in class we focused a lot on writing and working on our personal statement essays. The idea for mine came really randomly, but when I talked about it with some friends and teachers they all said to go for it and write it, so I did!

One thing that I think was really important to my essay was the fact that it contained very vivid imagery. The essay so far seems to easily draw the reader in, and I feel the audience really understands the situation I’m describing. The bad news about this though, is that I spent so much time working on the imagery and painting the scenery of the story, I have trouble actually getting to my point. This essay, not actually having a clear point, is not bad but, in the end, almost useless. I have some ideas about how to correct that though, mainly by adding in a little more plot and action without sacrificing the imagery that is so far working well.

One thing about it that I really like, is that it is a tad unusual. Although I wrote in the first person, the way I tell the story in the past tense and spend a lot of time on imagery makes it seem more like a short story than an essay — and unfortunately, without my point being very clear, it is more of a short story than an essay. If I am able to work in my point a little better, I think the essay will be able to stand as an essay, but still have the unusual format that I think will make it an enjoyable read as well as a memorable one. 

The biggest issue I have with it at the moment is my general vaugeness and lack of a clear point. Hopefully that will be remedied in the next draft. 

On the bright side, it is currently very, very short in length, meaning that I have lots of room to write more, expound and improve! I really hope that I’m able to make it very good in the next draft!

See y’all next week!

-Paulie (๑>◡<๑)

One thought on “Personal Statement Essays (Weekly Wrap-Up!)

  1. I think you are right about vivid imagery. It is very important for the reader because without the essay would be rather boring. It helps the reader see your world more clearly.

Leave a Reply

