Canterbury Tales: The Knight’s Tale: Parts 2+3

O Cupid, Cupid, lost to charity!

O realm that brooks no fellow-king in thee!

Well it is said that neither love nor power

Admit a rival, even for an hour.

Arcite and Palamon had found that out.

Although very poetical and pretty sounding, I feel like this small paragraph makes absolutely no sense.  Then again, that is what we thought about “Anyone Lived in a Pretty How Town.”  I still remember how we all felt when we first got it…

I DONT GET IT I DONT GET IT I DONT GET IT I DONT GET IT!

I DONT GET IT I DONT GET IT I DONT GET IT I DONT GET IT!

Then again, it became one of our favorite poems, so we shouldn’t knock this quote because it makes no sense.  That wasn’t why I chose it though,  I chose it because it was here that I realized that this Knight’s tale had a few major holes.  First of all, if they were in Greece, why are they claiming to be knights and talking about chivalry?  Why do they sometimes say things like, “Oh Lord!” or something Christian sounding, but then talk about Ares or Venus?  Another thing… Venus, in Greece!  That was her Roman name!  All of this can only have a few explanations.  Chaucer could be doing this on purpose so the tale is better suited for an English audience, or there is something fishy with the Knight.  I wonder what happens next!

-Paulie

Leave a Reply

