The MEGA POST! 1:3 – 2:3!

For she who MUST know, I will be covering 1:3, 2:1, 2:2, and 2:3 here ๐Ÿ˜„

” Duke Fredrick: Mistress, dispatch you with your safest haste, And get you from our court.

Rosalind: Me Uncle?

Duke Fredrick: You cousin. Within these ten days if that thou beest found so near our public court as twenty miles, Thou diest for it. “

Wow. Sudden mood change!

Here we see the duke banishes Rosalind, his own daughter’s best friend. But to discovery why we must go deeper…

“ROSALIND

I do beseech your grace,
Let me the knowledge of my fault bear with me:
If with myself I hold intelligence
Or have acquaintance with mine own desires,
If that I do not dream or be not frantic,–
As I do trust I am not–then, dear uncle,
Never so much as in a thought unborn
Did I offend your highness.

DUKE FREDERICK

Thus do all traitors:
If their purgation did consist in words,
They are as innocent as grace itself:
Let it suffice thee that I trust thee not.

ROSALIND

Yet your mistrust cannot make me a traitor:
Tell me whereon the likelihood depends.

DUKE FREDERICK

Thou art thy father’s daughter; there’s enough.

ROSALIND

So was I when your highness took his dukedom;
So was I when your highness banish’d him:
Treason is not inherited, my lord;
Or, if we did derive it from our friends,
What’s that to me? my father was no traitor:
Then, good my liege, mistake me not so much To think my poverty is treacherous.

CELIA

Dear sovereign, hear me speak.

DUKE FREDERICK

Ay, Celia; we stay’d her for your sake,
Else had she with her father ranged along.”

Oh! Now we see clearly what is going on! The duke admits that he only housed Rosalind for his daughter’s sake, not because he had any feelings for his niece, he just saw her as a pet to keep his daughter happy. HE saw her as an object, not a human being with feelings. We must always remember, in the words of Dr. Seuss:

“A person’s a person, no matter how small” – Horton hears a Who!

We must remember that every person deserves respect, no matter who they are, and they deserve kindness and love, even if you banished their father.

“Celia: Something That hath a reference to my state: No longer Celia, but Aliena.”

Here Celia and Rosalind are talking about their alter ego’s, so they could leave in disguise and not be bugged by other travelers. Celia, who is ailing about the fact that her father just banished Rosalind, becomes ALIena. like along, Aliena. get it?

Have a Merry Christmas when it comes!!! ๐ŸŽ…๐ŸŽ„๐ŸŽ

Bye Bye for now!

 

 

One thought on “The MEGA POST! 1:3 – 2:3!

Leave a Reply

