As You Like It, Act 1 Scene 1

I love Shakespeare.  I mean LOVE.  When I read the first scene of act 1 in As You Like It though, I wasn’t sure if this was just a boring introductory scene, or that I had absolutely no idea what was happening.  I hope it was the former; but it is probably the latter.

Despite my usual craziness, I did find one quote that I found profound and I can give a LONG speech about.

ADAM

Yonder comes my master, your brother.

ORLANDO

Go apart, Adam, and thou shalt hear how he will
shake me up.

Enter OLIVER

OLIVER

Now, sir! what make you here?

ORLANDO

Nothing: I am not taught to make any thing.

OLIVER

What mar you then, sir?

ORLANDO

Marry, sir, I am helping you to mar that which God
made, a poor unworthy brother of yours, with idleness.

OLIVER

Marry, sir, be better employed, and be naught awhile.

ORLANDO

Shall I keep your hogs and eat husks with them?
What prodigal portion have I spent, that I should
come to such penury?

OLIVER

Know you where your are, sir?

ORLANDO

O, sir, very well; here in your orchard.

OLIVER

Know you before whom, sir?

ORLANDO

Ay, better than him I am before knows me. I know
you are my eldest brother; and, in the gentle
condition of blood, you should so know me. The
courtesy of nations allows you my better, in that
you are the first-born; but the same tradition
takes not away my blood, were there twenty brothers
betwixt us: I have as much of my father in me as
you; albeit, I confess, your coming before me is
nearer to his reverence.

OLIVER

What, boy!

ORLANDO

Come, come, elder brother, you are too young in this.

OLIVER

Wilt thou lay hands on me, villain?

ORLANDO

I am no villain; I am the youngest son of Sir
Rowland de Boys; he was my father, and he is thrice
a villain that says such a father begot villains.
Wert thou not my brother, I would not take this hand
from thy throat till this other had pulled out thy
tongue for saying so: thou hast railed on thyself.

I’ll admit it, I have almost no idea what is happening.  I do know this: Some rich guy has a brother who is a hobo that he doesn’t care about.  Family is SACRED.   SACRED.  Use google: You can find millions f stories about brothers who hate each other and try to kill the other.  Why is this such a popular theme?  Because it is true.  Brothers have a knack for hating each other.  Does there close relationship make it easy to find information about and exploit the other?  Are some brothers just born bad?  Do you have any idea what is happening (if so, COMMENT by clicking the comment button in the top right of this post, thank you!)???

 

Now (For Him/SHe who MUST know) I don’t understand who exactly Oliver is, and what his relation (other then that of being a brother of) to Orlando is.  Is Orlando Oliver’s slave?  Does SparckNotes have a Shakespeare section? Do the names Oliver and Orlando sound like they are from a movie about cats taking over florida?  Only One way to find out…

OH, And before I go, The Christmas Carol I wish I could sing to you but I guess I’ll Type out:

We Wish You a Merry Christmas 🎅

We Wish You a Merry Christmas🎄,

WE WISH YOU A MERRY CHRISTMASSSSSSS🎁,

and a happy new year!😜

Happy Holidays!  Merry Christmas!  Happy Hanukah!  Have a Nice Kwanzaa!  Enjoy any other holiday I missed!

One thought on “As You Like It, Act 1 Scene 1

Leave a Reply

